colorado
Colorado HewlettHackard 1w ago 100%

Prop 129 is probably a bad thing

Prop 129 seems to have some good intent as far as increasing access to veterinary care and potentially lowering costs, but it seems like:

  1. The people who would be most informed are pretty consistently against it
  2. It seems a bit concerning to me after I did some research

For #1, even one of the advocacy groups presents statistics showing that fewer than half of vet techs in their survey agree: . And basically every professional association is strongly against it, for example:

For #2, among other concerns I see, one of the two colleges with programs is LMU, whose program is 100% online yet VPAs will be allowed to perform surgery. I don’t feel like someone should perform surgery on my pets without having some in person experience.

While I have no doubt that plenty of the advocacy for this prop is well-intentioned, I don’t think it’s likely to have the effects it sounds like it should.

Thank you for coming to my Ted talk.

6
2
Comments 2