"Initials" by "Florian Körner", licensed under "CC0 1.0". / Remix of the original. - Created with dicebear.comInitialsFlorian Körnerhttps://github.com/dicebear/dicebearMA
Malicious Compliance bot 4d ago 100%

Verizon says I owe them one penny.

https://old.reddit.com/r/MaliciousCompliance/comments/1g5xva4/verizon_says_i_owe_them_one_penny/

This is an automated archive made by the Lemmit Bot.

The original was posted on /r/maliciouscompliance by /u/DougSJR on 2024-10-17 18:32:10+00:00.


This past July, I moved my cell service from Verizon to another carrier. The move went with very few hitches. I was notified that I had a credit that they returned to me.

In August, I received a bill for ONE CENT. As I was no longer a Verizon customer, I couldn't fix it on their website. I went to the local company store and paid it (I even offered them choice of cash or debit card). I figured I was done with it.

In September, I received another bill for ONE CENT. Cue malicious compliance (even if lightweight).

I scheduled a payment for THREE CENTS. And I set it to recur every month until I get tired of it.

And I stopped at the same company store and advised them so.

This month, I got an email that I have a credit of $0.02. But they're getting another payment on October 30th. And again until I'm satisfied this is resolved. It will probably cost them a bunch in EFT costs :-)

To paraphrase Ernestine (SNL 9/18/76): I'm the former customer. I don't care. I don't have to.

Edit: I'm sure I'm not the first person to have this happen with Verizon. It's the first time it happened to me. In one of my comments, I posted a link to the email I got with a $0.02 credit (the previous ones had already been trashed).

1
1
Comments 1