linux
Linux Certainity45 1y ago 100%

xdg-open / mimetype for terminal applications in a minimal Wayland wm (dwl)

I'd like to make multiple terminal apps to launch in foot terminal, but I can't figure out how to se it properly.

~/.config/mimeapps.list contains a line "terminal=foot.desktop" (tried also without .desktop).

Dir /usr/share/applications/mimeinfo.cache has everything set properly (swayimg.desktop as a imageviewer) but still every picture opens in a browser which I don't want to see.

As a file managers I use lf and nnn, they both contain .desktop-files but I can't launch them with keybinds or menu launcher. Same applies to vim.desktop, nothing happens.

The distro I use is Artix, but I assume this problem is unrelated to this problem. I tried to google wiki but none of the xdg- related articles contains this.

Edit. I managed to find a workaround for lf and nnn by editing the Exec= line in /usr/share/applications/*.desktop file. (Exec=/usr/bin/foot -e nnn) but I still can't figure the swayimg imageviewer.

17
1
Comments 1