"Initials" by "Florian Körner", licensed under "CC0 1.0". / Remix of the original. - Created with dicebear.comInitialsFlorian Körnerhttps://github.com/dicebear/dicebearME
mentalhealth corgiwithalaptop 1y ago 100%

[CW: suicide] I don't know what to do for my partner.

They suffer from PTSD due to childhood trauma, and have been in therapy and working with psychiatrists for years.

Recently, they took a genetic test that helps doctors figure out what psych meds work with your body, and what don't. The result of this is their doctor instructing them to get off Lexapro, and on to something else, which they are currently doing.

I've noticed a negative personality shift from them the past week or two while they've been doing this, and they have admitted to me that, in their words, "I'm angry all the time, at everything, and I don't like feeling this way."

Last night, they came home and told me they didn't feel like talking. Ok, sure, let me cook dinner and let's watch comfort slop together. This morning, they informed me that they were feeling suicidal yesterday.

I think this post might just be me venting. I know there's no way I can help with their brain stuff while the new meds kick in, but at least I can keep things light and breezy when we're together, and try to make things smooth at home for them and keep them comfortable. This isn't really negatively affecting my mood or anything, I'm doing fine, I just...I guess I hurt for them a little bit. I wish there was some button I could press, or a magic fix that I could give them to make the bad feelings go away.

Does anyone have any experience in situations like this? What is your recommendation? I've encouraged them to tell their doctors about these feelings, but in hindsight - they've been in psych holds before and hated it, so I'd worry about that happening again.

Anyways, thanks for coming to my ted talk.

2
0
Comments 0